Eau Gallie Causeway – 2011-09-17

For the first time in over a month, I was finally able to take some pics of my car this weekend. I started out on the side of the Eau Gallie Causeway, just before you go over the causeway into Melbourne. Unfortunately, I didn’t set up as early as I wanted, and delayed myself by talking to another photographer who was shooting a hot rod for a magazine. Even though I set up late, there was still plenty of usable light up until about 8 pm. The clouds were also very cooperative and looked great in the sunset.

Later that night, I met up with my friend at the usual spot and we headed out to A1A and scouted out for some spots beach side to take some night pics. We settled for one of the beach lots in front of Patrick Air Force Base. The only down fall was the complete lack of constant light at the beach lot. My friend had to shine a flash light on the headlight of my car so that I had something to focus on. In retrospect, I probably could have used the halos in my headlights, but the flashlight worked very well. I positioned one flash on the side of the car and one directly in front. I then set it for a 30 second exposure. I think this is one of my favorite shots. I then edited it slightly in Photoshop.

After seeing the results from Saturday, I was excited to head back out Sunday night to get some more pictures. Unfortunately, the sky was not as interesting and it started raining around 7:30, giving me only about a half hour to take pictures. I also tried out a little HDR, but used only Photoshop to do the HDR. It’s not as dramatic as those that most people do, but that’s what I was hoping for.

HDR Attempt:

For these remaining images, I played with them some in Photoshop to tweak the sky and exposure. On the first image, I cloned the grass out to get rid of the green. I think I’m starting to get the hang of it, and it really is a useful tool.

I ended up ordering prints of all of these image through Mpix and I am having them printed on metallic paper. I can’t wait to see how they look printed up. It’s the first time I will be having any of my photography printed.

About spngr311

Photography. Cars. Surfing. My life.
This entry was posted in Automotive, BMW, E46, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

