New lens – 6-12-2011

I finally picked up a new (to me) lens and had to test it out. I picked up a 24-70 f2.8 EX DG from Sigma. It’s the older non-HSM model, but I picked it up for a good price. I figure that this lens will be a good stepping stone for me and when I am ready for an L-series equivalent, I can hand it off to my wife or sell it.

Since I normally shoot with my 50mm f1.8 when doing car shots, the added flexibility of the 24-70 is a nice change of pace. The lens does take some crisp shots, and is rather quick. It does seem to get a little confused sometimes on when it autofocuses, but no more than my 50mm did on similar shots (the lack of contrast on the car can cause some issues depending on where I focus). The autofocus motor is a bit louder than the HSM or ultrasonic, but it isn’t a deal breaker. I plan to use the 24-70 mostly for automotive shoots and a portraits.

All shots below were taken with the 24-70mm with a CPL at various focal lengths, apertures, and shutter speeds.

Shot at 70mm @f5.2:

Shot at 52mm @f4.0:

Shot at 48mm @f8.0:

On a side note, I discovered the burn tool and can’t wait to learn how to use it more:

About spngr311

Photography. Cars. Surfing. My life.
This entry was posted in E46, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New lens – 6-12-2011

  1. darqlabs says:

    very nice shots of a gorgeous E46. makes me want to take the old E30 out for a shoot

  2. darqlabs says:

    i absolutely agree. give me an E30 or VW MKI-MKII, and im a happy camper.

Leave a Reply

